FEBRUARY 12th 2016

Review by: Metal Mom

Let’s grab your attention with this:

Band Members:
Chris Broderick: Guitar
Henry Derek: Vocals
Shawn Drover: Drums
Matt Bachand: Bass

Track Listing:
01. Throwback
02. Legion of Lies
03. Thy Lord Belial
04. Refrain and Re-Fracture
05. Dead Stare
06. Disastrophe
07. Poison Dream
08. Obey the Fallen
09. Crimson Psalm
10. Birth and the Burial

After seeing Act of Defiance live in Vancouver on Feb 6, I just knew this had to be my next review. I have always said you can tell how good a band is by seeing them live, anyone can sound great with the help of production and mixing teams. But in all honesty, I forget the sound systems at these little venues, not so great. I sure realized it after listening to “Birth and the Burial” all the way through. Crisp, clean, heavy, and all instruments are heard with precision. Without a doubt a Kick Ass album.

I am not a fan at all of thrash, but they seem to have incorporated it into their sound with some amazing uncompromising talent. I am going to say it, like it or not, to me, the best thing that could have happened in 2014, was the fact that Chris Broderick and Shawn Drover left Megadeth. It has now given us a powerhouse band that will move and conquer. Next came the addition of Matt Bachand (Shadows Fall/Times Of Grace), who is well known for ability at playing his six string bass, adding his own aspect, that creates an amazing laying down of bass lines. Now comes the final touch to be added, the vocalist, and his name is Henry Derek (Scar the Martyr), with such an amazing vocal range, they have all together created their first album “Birth And The Burial”.

This is one of the times that I don’t care what genre they put themselves into, this album is going to make you take a step back and say “holy crap”, this is amazing. This is the kind of music that everyone can enjoy, not matter what type of metal you listen to, because this, with the riffs, the shredding, giving you goose bumps, to the thundering domination of drum blasts, the bass adding to the heaviness, and the vocals adding the
pièce de résistance with clean vocals or some heavy kick ass growls,  makes this one of the most formidable bands in the industry. You can hear it in their music, they are not out to just do something for the sake of doing it, these four members collaborate together and create something important, just listen to all 10 tracks, I dare you to pick just one song and say it is your favourite, each one has something about it that makes it stand out. Just be warned, the mosh pits are crazy when they play.

The lyrics too are ones that most can relate to in some form or another, and the fans can really get into that, especially when it resembles their lives in some way.

The recording was done in three different studios, in three different states, Chris did the work on the vocal and guitar production in his own Ill-Fated Studio in LA, Zeuss (Rob Zombie, Queensryche, Revocation, and more) worked with Shawn tracking drums in Dexter’s Lab in Milford, Connecticut, while Matt laid down his bass at ManShark, in Southampton, Massachusetts. The artwork was courtesy of Travis Smith (Avenged Sevenfold, Strapping Young Lad), their logo and emblem was done by Van Williams (currently of Ghost Ship Octavius).

Act of Defiance, has some well known names in the band, so that alone will bring in many fans, but once you listen to their sound, so amazing, so phenomenal, it is going to have you hooked, and you won’t stop listening. Like me, definitely a fan, and I will be there every time they come to town, or near by.

Need more, here you go, for your listening and head banging pleasure.
Legion of Lies:

Make sure to get out and support the talent of Act of Defiance.