MARCH 5th 2015

Review by: Metal Mom/YouFO

Yes, it took 2 of us to review the newest and 13th album from Enslaved. It was basically a tug of war, as we both really have enjoyed the sound of Enslaved for many years.

Track Listing:
01. Thurisaz Dreaming
02. Building With Fire
03. One Thousand Years Of Rain
04. Nauthir Bleeding
05. In Times
06. Daylight

Main recordings for "In Times" took place at Duper Studios to Solslottet Studio in Bergen, Norway with additional recordings sessions at Conclave & Earshot Studios (presided over by ENSLAVED members Larsen and Ice Dale), and Ivar Bjørnson’s Peersonal Sound Studios. Additional experimentation and sonic exploration was conducted deep in the woods of Valevåg south of Bergen where a mobile studio recorded additional sounds. Produced by band members Ivar Bjørnson, Grutle Kjellson & Herbrand Larsen together with Iver Sandøy. Mixing was completed by Jens Bogren at Fascination Street Studios in Örebro, Sweden.

YouFO Review:
This is definitely Enslaved, who we have all come to love, some maybe not, but we won't concern ourselves with those people.

Progressive and still reminiscent of old times. The vocal styles are something like cause and effect, chaos and harmony, those are what come to my mind when I listen.

All of this seems so natural and original, like a tree with many roots if you will. Songs that can carry you to different places, this is a beautiful piece of work.

Favourite song: the last "Daylight".

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Review by: Metal Mom

13th album, unlucky number? I doubt that very much after listening to the newest and greatest from ENSLAVED. What you will find, is what we have come to expect from Enslaved musically, so no matter what, you can always distinguish who's music this is. I love that. Lyrically, I think they took a turn from RIITIIR, that's not a bad thing. It's a little more similar to the album previous to that, but at the same time, giving us something out of the ordinary. Ivar comments that "the songs are extensions of my inner and outer life, the thoughts I am aware of having, as well as those that lie too deep to register in everyday consciousness." Now that makes for some interesting song writing. This is an album that you can listen to anywhere, at any time, and not get tired of it. 6 songs, not enough for me.

Black Metal / Progressive, sorry, I am not labelling this one, because I don't care what genre it is labelled under, it's just too damn good. I found myself listening with enthusiasm, enjoying all the different sounds, listening to the lyrics, making this so complete, that I could just sit back, relax, and not think, is it over yet, or skip to the next song. I have always found ENSLAVED capable of great music and lyrics.

Their first song "Thurisaz Dreaming" is also the first release from the album.
and gives you your first experience with "In Times". Enslaved has always been capable of giving Black Metal their own touch. Something that I have enjoyed immensely.

Building With Fire, the 2nd track, a little change up here in their style, also a magnificent bass solo part way through. Like I mentioned, you know it's Enslaved, but they have given us so much more, you can tell.  

Track 3 "One Thousand Years of Rain" starts off fast, with a touch of a similar Riitiir melodic tone, only to switch it up and slow it down to enjoy some Viking chants. Loved this.

Acoustic style, distorted guitars, only to once again take us to a softer side, that's "Nauthir Bleeding" A little different that’s for sure, but a unique side of the band. I think with these explanations this gives you an idea of what you can expect to find on the album.

This album is true Enslaved blood. But so much more than the norm. It's definitely a must have for ENSLAVED fans, and if you are not a fan already, then this would be a memorable album to start off with. But be warned, you are also going to want the previous albums.