OCTOBER 9th 2016

Review By: Metal Mom

Band Members:

Tom S Englund – vocals
Rikard Zander – keyboards
Johan Niemann – bass
Jonas Ekdahl – drums
Henrik Danhage - guitar

Dark Melodic Metal

Gothenburg, Sweden

"The Storm Within", Evergreys 10th album is scheduled for worldwide release on Friday, September 9th, as the band celebrates their 20th anniversary. Some have said it is their strongest album yet, and it is true. After giving this a listen, I couldn't agree more.


Track Listing:

01. Distance
02. Passing Trough
03. Someday
04. Astray
05. The Impossible
06. My Allied Ocean
07. In Orbit (feat. Floor Jansen)
08. The Lonely Monarch
09. The Paradox of The Flame (feat. Carina Englund)
10. Disconnect
11. The Storm Within

For anyone who has followed Evergrey, they will find it impossible not to become completely spellbound by the music on ‘The Storm Within’, and with the first listen. The band has a trademark of progressive, dark and melancholic elements and they are as strong as ever.  Evergrey has managed to put it all together very nicely in a package that is more accessible and direct compared to any of their nine previous albums. It is pretty obvious they know what they want, and have learned from past experience with their other albums. This album has an energy you won’t forget, they have you hooked, even from the first song. There is no filler here. Another nice addition to the album is the vocal talents of Floor Jansen (Nightwish) and Tom Englunds other half Carina Englund, who often contributes to their albums.

The lyrics I actually listened to on this album and it seems they tackled something everyone can relate to, having someone, losing them, and then having to pick up the pieces and continue on. Almost a love album, I said almost, the lyrics are definitely, but the music is still their trademark, progressive metal with some extras to enjoy, like being melodic. I can see everyone getting hooked on the song Passing Through, but each song has something for you to enjoy. There is so much on this album to take in, that you can’t just listen once, it’s more like time and time again.

If you are an Evergrey fan, or you have never listened to them before, trust me, this is an album you are going to want in your collection when it comes out September 9th.