JUNE 22nd 2015

Review by: Lady M

Genre: Death Metal
Hometown: Florida / California

Band Members:  
Daniel Gonzalez  - Guitar
Matt Harvey - Guitar / vocals
Robin Mazen – Bass
Gus Rios – Drums

GRUESOME, featuring members of Exhumed, Possessed, Malevolent Creation and Derketa.  Celebration of the sound of the early Death records, the collective was born out of guitarist/vocalist Matt Harvey (Exhumed) and drummer Gus Rios’ (Malevolent Creation) mutual involvement with the Death To All tours. Harvey serving as frontman for the original nine-member mini-tour and Rios performing “Baptized In Blood” and working with DTA drummer Sean Reinert on the following US tour where Exhumed filled in as support on a several dates. With Harvey composing in California, Rios recruited Possessed guitarist Daniel Gonzalez and Derketa bassist Robin Mazen to record the material in Florida, while Harvey tracked his vocals on the West Coast. The result is an eight-track debut, Savage Land, a truly gruesome slab of late80’s early 90’s Florida styled death metal.

Savage Land Track Listing:
1. Savage Land
2. Trapped In Hell
3. Demonized
4. Hideous
5. Gangrene
6. Closed Casket
7. Psychic Twin
8. Gruesome

 I hearby declare that both guitarists will now be known as The Magic Fingered Duo Daniel and Matt.  If you love a great guitar musical experience then you are not to be disappointed with this group.
Lyrically, while not very clean they have a nice flow vocally and the lyrics themselves are great. Vocals, not very clean, I think it’s more a recording issue then a talent issue. Overall, a great album to be sure and the feel of it would remind you of another great band "Death".

So do us a solid and go get this album! Savage Land is out now.