NOVEMBER 10th 2015

Review by: Lady M

Genre: Death Metal

Hometown: Based out of NYC.  
Relapse Records

Band Members:
Sherwood Webber – Vocals
Noah Carpenter – Guitar
Dave Matthews – Guitar
Joe Keyser – Bass
Bob Beaulac – Drums
The Skinny on Skinless,  will defile the ears of the living this June with their first new studio offering in nearly a decade.  SKINLESS returns stronger and more vicious than ever before with a prime slab of truly brutal death metal. Recorded by Tom Case at Edie Road Studio and Doomsday Bunker Studio, both in upstate New York, with vocals tracked by Dave Otero (Cephalic Carnage, Primitive Man etc.) at Flatline Audio in Denver, Colorado, and mastered by Brad Boatright (Obituary, Nails, Integrity etc.) at Audiosiege in Portland, Oregon.  Only The Ruthless Remain is poised to stand among the most sadistic yet addictive death metal offerings of the year.

Comments Carpenter, “We worked really hard on this record and I hope you guys soil your diapers repeatedly when you hear it. We think it’s the most well-rounded SKINLESS album yet; from the song writing to the production, the artwork, and the layout, it’s the real deal. Get your beers and toilet paper ready.”

Adds Webber, “Gallons of brew slammed and oceans of blood spilled, we’re back sicker than ever. This is a dark, immense slab of death metal. Stockpile your beers, gather your minions, it’s time to get RUTHLESS”

SKINLESS was forged in 1992 by guitarist Noah Carpenter with one goal: to be the heaviest band in creation. Following a variety of personnel changes and two demos, SKINLESS established a solid, dedicated line-up from 1997-2001 in the form of Carpenter, vocalist Sherwood Webber, bassist Joe Keyser and drummer Bob Beaulac. This version of the band would later become known as the “classic” line-up.

Following a seven-year slumber, SKINLESS returned to action with their “classic” formation in 2013 and have since added second guitarist, Dave Matthews (not that Dave Matthews) to the ranks. Their latest CD offering titled “Only The Ruthless Remains” features their classic late 90’s line-up plus boasts seven tracks of SKINLESS’ signature fusion of punishing, concussively heavy grooves and surgically precise, blasting severity.. Only The Ruthless Remain includes artwork by Ken Sarafin.

My Take: Definitely hard hitting mosh pit music- right off the bat it assaults your ears with heavy grinding, gutteral vocals and grungy instrumentals. Feels down right demonic in some senses, but we are definitely okay with that. So go check out these guys and lend yourselves to getting skinned.