FEBRUARY 6th 2015

Review by Metal Mom

Release Date: February 3, 2015
Record Label: AFM Records

Band Members:
Udo Dirkschneider (vocals)
Andrey Smirnov (guitar)
Kasperi Heikkinen (guitar)
Fitty Wienhold (bass)
Francesco Jovino (drums)

1987 saw the start of the band, and after many years and worldwide touring, they are now going to be releasing their 15th album "Decadent" on February 3rd through AFM Records. Decadent will be made available in the following formats: digipak, standard CD, black vinyl, coloured vinyl, and as a limited-edition fanbox. Are you ready ?

Track Listing:
01. Speeder                      
02. Decadent              
03. House of Fake                  
04. Mystery                
05. Pain               
06. Secrets In Paradise                 
07. Meaning of Life                   
08. Breathless                   
09. Under Your Skin                
10. Untouchable                          
11. Rebels of the Night                                      
12. Words in Flames

What to expect...well lyrically it's about decadent behaviour of the rich upper classes and social criticism, after touring worldwide, and experiencing first hand the devastating gap between rich and poor, the ruthless behaviour of leaders, why not sing about the world as you see it. Think about it, it's also what we see everyday in our cities.

Udo Dirkschneider and Mattes (Redhead Audio Productions, Wilhelmshaven) produced the album along with Fitty Wienhold, a team that previous worked on "Steelhammer". When a team works so well together, you stick with them. The whole band were involved in song writing. Udo and Fitty recorded at Ibiza's "Double U Studios" and then Mattes mixed it all at Wilhelmshaven, with Jacob Hansen (Volbeat) mastering.  

When given a CD to review, you really can't listen to it just once, you really need to listen numerous times to really get a feel, and to listen to pick up what it‘s all about. It's just what I did, and well after 15 albums, they know how to do it metal/rock style, an album that probably brings a little something different to each of the songs. It's not the same thing the whole way through, the guitar riffs by Andrey and Kasperi grab your attention, drumming rocks, bass is subtle but you know it's there. Vocals, well they are unique, it's what makes them who they are, making this whole album something worthwhile, and more. Each song brings something different to the ear, but never fear, its all true rock and metal, one to get your hands pumping.  I really enjoyed this, and probably listened to it more than my normal reviewing listens.

This album is for new fans and older ones. It's one that you should have in your collection. U.D.O. fans get out next month and grab yourself a copy, and for others who may not have heard them before, this is truly the one album that it's all you will need. You only need to listen to the video here to see why.

Decadent: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pLtwWsLgaz8&feature=youtu.be